Milwaukee  |  Waukesha  |  Madison  |  Racine  |  Kenosha  |  Lake Geneva  |  Appleton  |  Green Bay  |  Wausau  |  Rhinelander  |  Stevens Point  |  Sheboygan  |  West Bend
When accidents or injuries happen to you or someone you love...why choose anyone else®
Home > Racine Car Accident Attorneys > New WI auto insurance law begins

New WI auto insurance law begins

Wisconsin joins 47 other states to require car insurance. The new law went into effect June 1, 2010.

Drivers are now expected to purchase at least a policy that provides state-mandated minimum coverage, and will be held accountable to keep proof of that insurance policy with them in their vehicles.

Failure to obtain the proper insurance will cost a motorist $500 per citation. A $10 fine will be brought against motorists who fail to provide proof for their policy, but the fine may be lifted if those motorists can later prove that they did have insurance to a law enforcement agency. Finally, a new $700 fine will be put in place to stop drivers from creating fraudulent insurance policies.

The national average of states with insurance minimums compares to Wisconsin’s current uninsured percentage, which is roughly 15% of the population on the roadways. These numbers do not include New Hampshire, where there are still no auto insurance requirements. Virginia also does not require car insurance, but expects a $500 charge on an annual basis if a driver elects not to obtain insurance.

If you or someone you love has been affected by an uninsured motorist and cannot seem to get the payments you deserve, contact the Racine car accident lawyers of Habush Habush & Rottier S.C. ®, by calling 800-242-2874 today.

Live Chat!

Archives

Categories

Blogroll

Admin